Skip to main content

Random Musings

Hi my wonderful 5 readers. I have been very bad and not posting as much as I should have. Well, here's a quickie update. Dad's doing better. He's at home relaxing and not dead...always a relief. I've been working a lot. Have a lot of business happening which is always a good thing. I am, again, going back to Isagenix. I'm going to try to stick with it this time. I, unfortunately, gained back everything I lost. So, I am looking to start slow and go the distance...endurance not speed. Blah Blah Blah and all that good stuff. Really I'm trying to lose weight because I feel old. I bet you thought I was going to say fat. Nope. I actually don't feel fat, as if fat itself was a feeling. I do feel old and with that I have noticed a few fun things. 

Boy this old age stuff just creeps up on you. Here I sit at my computer listening to Neil Diamond's Cracklin' Rosie! I'm in my forties (early), not sixties. Oh well, I guess I'm going to be one of those grouchy, "get off my lawn" old people. Gosh I hope not. I started working out more and darn it to hell if I'm not suffering. My hip hurts, my feet are sore and I'm wondering why I should be doing this at all. I have noticed...I like that word, noticed....that I'm not losing weight even though I am following a decent diet and working out at least 3 times a week. I have noticed that I'm feeling more and more tired but I'm sleeping the same amount time. I noticed that I can't drink the way I used to without getting heartburn. This hurts just to write it down much less experience it. 

Getting old sucks.

I don't get it. Okay I'm going to challenge the wisdom of whatever "malevolent" being is out there that created us (regardless of religious points of view). Why make a being (that's us) that has consciousnesses of life and the awareness of itself growing old and yet offer it no ability to stop the process and it's also aware that despite everything death is still inevitable? What sick, warped sense of humor is that?

Alright, I feel better getting that out there. So, on a totally different note, my sister had her 3rd kid in January. Another boy. He looks just like his dad. The only thing missing is his Army uniform. 

I have started writing more. I have been inspired. Do you know how hard that is sometimes? Well, some of you do. I will say my inspirations are also my dreams. Which can be good and bad. The good thing is that they inspire stories. The bad thing is that the stories aren't always good. When I say good I don't reference the way they were written. My nightmares are so vivid. I have been keeping a dream journal since I was very young. I have tons of them. When I was younger my nightmares were so bad that I had to figure out what to do. Oddly enough they never seemed to stop me from sleeping. I was never terrified to sleep. Most of the times I was such a heavy sleeper I couldn't tell the difference. My dreams have become more vivid and scary as I have gotten older but I now use a dream interpretation book to help. I have bought the same book eight times as it keeps falling apart. It's the best book I have run across for dream interpretation. It's called The Dreamer's Dictionary by Lady Stearn Robinson and Tom Gorbett. If you don't have one I highly recommend this one.

Anyway, I have been having these strange dreams where in my dreams, I'm asleep and dreaming. Now we've all seen those cheesy horror flicks that have someone dreaming and then they think they are being attacked just to wake up and be attacked and wake up again. No. This mine are not like that. Not completely anyway. Usually in my dreams, I dream I'm asleep and then wake up having to start my day like usual. I get up, brush  my teeth, have coffee,take a nice hot shower and get dressed except when I go to find my keys I realize I left them back in my bedroom. That's when I see myself still asleep in bed. It's more like an out of body experience. Strange uh? I've had this kind of dream several times over the last three weeks. Oh what does it all mean? Who knows. It's just me being strange, again. Anyhoo, I've gotta run. 

I am going to try to keep my posts more regular. I wouldn't want to disappoint my five fans.

Until next time....

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Isn't this over yet?!

Sometimes I just want to scream! It feels like the last 2 and half years have just taken a crap on me and my family and there seems no end in sight.  Oh let's recap shall we... 2016 was my son's first open heart surgery followed by a plethora of doctor's appointments and other surgeries. I thought it was over by the end of the year and took the advice of Whitney Houston and friends when I exhaled. However, my fun filled days were not over yet and I found myself dumbfounded by the turn of events in my life.  2017 started out fine...well not really. January brought us the bad news that our black Lab Molly Mae had cancer. It was in her bones and basically there was nothing to do but love her.  So, that's what we did. We took her home and loved her. Then, in April we were informed that my son needed to have another open heart surgery because the tissue valve that they put in was not performing the way that they thought that it would and now needed ...

3 day nail check in

It had been three days since I have removed my nails and coated them with Sally Hansen's Hard as Wraps nail covering. Now the directions say to take off the polish after three days and restart the process all over again with two (2) new coats. When they say that you need to remove the polish after three days and start over, they mean it. Here is what happens on the third day, prompting you to remove the polish. My nails with the initial tear on the polish. The polish starts to lift and tear off. It started with a small uplift on the side of my nails and I pulled off the rest. Surprisingly, the whole thing came off without having to use nail polish remover.The problem with that, though, is that my nails underneath are still very thin and weak.  In this picture the nail is bent. It's a little hard to see it but I am bending my nail. The weak condition of my nails has continued and I see no real change to them . The next picture is of  the top of my nail, showing the te...

It's been three months....

Okay it's been three months since I started this journey. I had decided to stop being a slave to my fake nails and go all natural. For better or worse, I wanted to stop putting so many chemicals in and on my body and just let nature take it's course. Having said that, I knew I was in for a rough ride. For starters, I have been wearing solar/acrylic nails since I was sixteen years old. I now have a 16 year old daughter of my own, so you do the math...I will not help.  Anyway, The first two months were hard. My nails were so thin and weak that I could actually bend what little nail I had backwards without pain. So I cut my nails down to the quick and decided to start new. I first started with using Sally Hansen's Hard as Wraps but found out that they have formaldehyde in it. So I changed. I over to Nail-Aid's Keratin and 3 Minute Artificial. It is made in America and does not use formaldehyde and does NOT test on animals.  So, I saw little to no improvement...