Skip to main content

Cops and Lesbians

Recently I went to a bar with some friends of mine to see a band called Hot Lunch...yes Hot Lunch. The band members are not all that great looking but the music is awesome! Now for those of you wondering where I came up with the title, I will tell you. When we got to the bar there were cop cars everywhere! What the hell? Crap started without me?! Just kidding...well about the crap anyway. It seems there are many cops that frequent this bar...during happy hour...on a Saturday night. When I asked one of the cops why they were there I was told he was just visiting a friend...at a table...of drunk-looking women. 

Okay. 

My friends and I made our way to the first booth closest to the band. Now I normally would not sit so close because I don't like my ears to bleed but it was the only place left to sit.

So let me set the scene for you. This is a bar, yes, but not full of kids. Everyone in the bar is about late 30's to late 60's. Yes, 60's. Mostly thin, leathery looking women with a cigarette between their long bony fingers. Most sound like they swallowed a frog. Anyway it's kinda well lit, meaning no dark shadowy corners. It's not that large but big enough to house about 40 people in tables about 20 people in booths and a dance floor with a stage. Not a bad place. I'd been there once before about a year earlier and had a great time then too. 

The music ranges anywhere (with the band) from the 70's chica bow wow music, like "Strokin' by Clarence Carter or "Lick it before you stick it" by Denise Lasalle  to "Suit and Tie" by Justin Timberlake. A pretty broad range of music.  Of course no bar would be complete without some sort of line dancing. I don't know, don't ask me why.  Well that's where the second part of the title comes in. 

You see I was there with A and J...the names have been changed to protect the crazy, and we are all married women. Let me just clarify, married to men. So as the band took a break, the bar played some music for the people that weren't ready to get off the dance floor. It was some line dance song. Well most of the people left the floor but some women stayed. So this one elderly looking woman was line dancing when she spotted J sitting at the edge of the booth. She walked straight over to J and without hesitation or warning stood nose to nose with her and smiled. 

Now, A was having a good time and had a few so she did not notice the "incident." I, on the other hand, was designated driver and very sober! First time for everything. J was so stunned that she didn't move or know what to do. The lady backed off and beckoned J to dance with her. Now J, also having a few drinks, shots, etc...wasn't so far gone that she didn't know left from lesbian. But this caught her off guard. The lady, realizing that J was not getting up went back to her line dancing. That's when J and I realized that...we were sitting around ladies who also liked the ladies.

Now don't get me wrong. I am NOT against gays and lesbians. Not at all. I have several friends that are gay but we were unaware that we were sitting in a particular area of the bar. This is not a gay bar. So during the course of the night J got hit on a few more times. A, being well lubed didn't seem to notice or care. I was sober but disappointed I didn't get hit on. Not that I am gay but it helps the self esteem to know someone other than your spouse finds you attractive, even it they are of the same sex.  We have yet to schedule another girls night out. Things that make you go hummmm....

Until next time...

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Isn't this over yet?!

Sometimes I just want to scream! It feels like the last 2 and half years have just taken a crap on me and my family and there seems no end in sight.  Oh let's recap shall we... 2016 was my son's first open heart surgery followed by a plethora of doctor's appointments and other surgeries. I thought it was over by the end of the year and took the advice of Whitney Houston and friends when I exhaled. However, my fun filled days were not over yet and I found myself dumbfounded by the turn of events in my life.  2017 started out fine...well not really. January brought us the bad news that our black Lab Molly Mae had cancer. It was in her bones and basically there was nothing to do but love her.  So, that's what we did. We took her home and loved her. Then, in April we were informed that my son needed to have another open heart surgery because the tissue valve that they put in was not performing the way that they thought that it would and now needed ...

3 day nail check in

It had been three days since I have removed my nails and coated them with Sally Hansen's Hard as Wraps nail covering. Now the directions say to take off the polish after three days and restart the process all over again with two (2) new coats. When they say that you need to remove the polish after three days and start over, they mean it. Here is what happens on the third day, prompting you to remove the polish. My nails with the initial tear on the polish. The polish starts to lift and tear off. It started with a small uplift on the side of my nails and I pulled off the rest. Surprisingly, the whole thing came off without having to use nail polish remover.The problem with that, though, is that my nails underneath are still very thin and weak.  In this picture the nail is bent. It's a little hard to see it but I am bending my nail. The weak condition of my nails has continued and I see no real change to them . The next picture is of  the top of my nail, showing the te...

It's been three months....

Okay it's been three months since I started this journey. I had decided to stop being a slave to my fake nails and go all natural. For better or worse, I wanted to stop putting so many chemicals in and on my body and just let nature take it's course. Having said that, I knew I was in for a rough ride. For starters, I have been wearing solar/acrylic nails since I was sixteen years old. I now have a 16 year old daughter of my own, so you do the math...I will not help.  Anyway, The first two months were hard. My nails were so thin and weak that I could actually bend what little nail I had backwards without pain. So I cut my nails down to the quick and decided to start new. I first started with using Sally Hansen's Hard as Wraps but found out that they have formaldehyde in it. So I changed. I over to Nail-Aid's Keratin and 3 Minute Artificial. It is made in America and does not use formaldehyde and does NOT test on animals.  So, I saw little to no improvement...